Holiday Schedule

 

 

 2014 UVa Wise Holiday Schedule 

Thursday, January 1

New Year’s Day

Friday, January 2

Additional Time Granted by the Governor

Wednesday, January 1

New Year's Day 

Friday, March 14                       

Spring Break Day (Lee-Jackson Day, observed)

Monday, May 26                            

Memorial Day

Friday, July 4                              

Independence Day

Thursday, November 27                                

Thanksgiving Day

Friday, November 28                

Day after Thanksgiving Day

Monday, December 22

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, observed

Tuesday, December 23                

George Washington Day, observed

Wednesday, December 24                

Additional Time Granted by the Governor (4 hours for November 26 and 4 hours for December 24)

Thursday, December 25                      

Christmas Day

Friday, December 26                  

Additional Time Granted by the Governor

Monday, December 29            

Labor Day, observed

Tuesday, December 30                       

Columbus Day, observed

Wednesday, December 31                

Veteran's Day, observed

 

Total: 112 hours holiday leave (New Year's Day, 2015 will be counted in next year's schedule)

Supervisors are encouraged to adopt a liberal leave policy during holiday periods to accommodate employee requests, as long as essential services continue to be provided. We recognize that due to business necessity some departments may be required to be open and will not be able to observe scheduled holidays. In those instances, essential college employees who must work on a holiday should be given adequate advance notice for personal planning purposes. Questions regarding the provision of essential customer services should be directed to your respective vice chancellor.

Should the Governor grant further additional holiday time during the year, Human Resources will disseminate this information. If you have questions regarding this schedule, please call Stephanie Perry at ext. 0240 or Francene Meade at ext. 0142.